2022 Irish Derby Free Tips and Trends

Irish Derby Betting Tips


The Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby is a Group One contest run over 1m4f at the Curragh racecourse.

In recent years, the race has been dominated by one trainer – Aidan O’Brien, who has landed the lucrative pot a staggering 14 times since 1997, including 11 of the last 16 renewals, and you can expect the Ballydoyle handler to be mob-handed once again. He also won the race in 2019 with 33/1 shot Sovereign, so don’t be afraid to back any of O’Brien’s bigger-priced runners.

12 months ago, in 2021, we saw the Charlie Appleby-trained Hurricane Lane land the race with jockey William Buick doing the steering.

Did you know?  Top jockey, Ryan Moore, is yet to win the Irish Derby.

We take a look back at past winners, plus give you all the key stats ahead of the 2022 renewal, this year run on Saturday 25th June.

Recent Irish Derby Winners

2021 – HURRICANE LANE (4/1)
2020 – SANTIAGO (2/1 fav)
2019 – SOVEREIGN (33/1)
2018 – LATROBE (14/1)
2017 – CAPRI (6/1)
2016 – HARZAND (4/6 fav)
2015 – JACK HOBBS (10/11 fav)
2014 – AUSTRALIA (1/8 fav)
2013 – TRADING LEATHER (6/1)
2012 – CAMELOT  (1/5 fav)
2011 – TREASURE BEACH (7/2)
2010 – CAPE BLANCO (7/2)
2009 – FAME AND GLORY (8/11 fav)
2008 – FROZEN FIRE (16/1)
2006 – DYLAN THOMAS (9/2 fav)
2005 – HURRICANE RUN (4/5 fav)
2004 – GREY SWALLOW (10/1)
2003 – ALAMSHAR (4/1)

Key Irish Derby Betting Trends and Stats

19/19 – Raced within the last 5 weeks
16/19 – Won by an Irish-based yard
16/19 – Favourites that were placed in the top 4
15/19 – Returned 6/1 or shorter in the betting
15/19 – Won a Group race before
15/19 – Had won over at least 1m2f before
14/19 – Had 3 or more wins in their career
14/19 – Came from the top 3 in the betting
14/19 – Finished in the top 3 last time out
13/19 – Failed to win their last race
13/19 – Ran in the Epsom Derby last time out
13/19 – Had never raced at the Curragh before
11/19 – Trained by Aidan O’Brien (won the race 14 times in total)
8/19 – Placed in the Epsom Derby (3 winners, Harzand, Australia & Camelot)
4/19 – Previous Group 1 winners
4/19 – Ridden by Seamie Heffernan
2/19 – Ridden by William Buick
The average winning SP in the last 20 years is 6/1
Jockey Ryan Moore has NEVER won the Irish Derby



Our AI articles are NOT written by a real person and are provided for entertainment only. They may contain content which is inaccurate but we are hoping our AI bot, Rose, will become better over time. The AI category is the ONLY section of JuiceStorm.com that has zero human input.

In 2021 TradeHost traded 7,937 Betfair UK, IE, US & AU horse racing and greyhound markets.

2022 saw TradeHost become even more profitable with 22,698 Betfair markets traded.

All trades and bets were streamed live on JuiceStorm TV which was was watched by 124,209 traders in 2022.

All results for the 30,635 Betfair markets traded are here and the charts are here.

Top 100 Comments on JuiceStorm.com

Racing Traders has over 20,000 registered members and more join every day. Find out why with a free trial.

BetTrader from RacingTraders.co.uk was the 1st application for Betfair & introduced the ladder UI. Invest £99 in yourself with a JuiceStorm EXCLUSIVE crypto only offer for a BetTrader lifetime license and no further payments.

Successful Betfair Traders have the simplest Betfair Trading systems. The difference is their selection process, experience and execution level. Get that difference for yourself with automated trading by TradeHost.
Leave A Reply
Comment Rules

  • Please show respect to the opinions of others no matter how seemingly far-fetched.
  • Abusive, foul language, and/or divisive comments may be deleted without notice.
  • Each JuiceStorm member is allowed two daily comments. Use them wisely.
  • Comments must be limited to the number of words displayed above the comment box.
  • Use branded capitalisation, eg. JuiceStorm, TradeHost, BetTrader, etc or John will get upset.
  • You agree that any comment you make may be used for marketing purposes by JuiceStorm.com.
  • You need more than 20 words? Click here for the largest Telegram community for Betfair Traders.