2020 Ayr Gold Cup Betting Trends & Free Tips

Ayr Gold Cup Trends and Tips

Run over 6f, the Ayr Gold Cup is a handicap race open to horses aged 3 or older and staged at Ayr racecourse. The line-up is put together from the highest-rated horses entered, with the maximum number of runners currently standing at 27 – any horses that don’t make the race are offered the chance to run in the consolation races – the Ayr Silver and Bronze Cups. Did you know since 1980 we’ve seen just 3 winning favourites?

Here at JuiceStorm we take a look back at recent winners and gives you the key trends to look out for ahead of the 2020 renewal – this year run on Saturday 19th September.

Recent Ayr Gold Cup Winners

2019 – Angel Alexander (28/1)
2018 – Baron Bolt (28/1) & Son Of A Rest (5/1 fav)
2017 – Donjuan Triumphant (13/2)
2016 – Brando (11/1)
2015 – Don’t Touch (6/1 fav)
2014 – Louis The Pious (10/1)
2013 – Highland Colori (20/1)
2012 – Captain Ramius (16/1)
2011 – Our Jonathan (11/1)
2010 – Redford (14/1)
2009 – Jimmy Styles (14/1)
2008 – Regal Parade (18/1)
2007 – Advanced (20/1)
2006 – Fonthill Road (16/1)
2005 – Presto Shinko (12/1)
2004 – Funfair Wane (33/1)
2003 – Quito (20/1)
2002 – Funfair Wane (16/1)

Key Ayr Gold Cup Betting Trends

19/19 – Raced within the last 6 weeks
18/19 – Raced within the last 4 weeks
16/19 – Had 3 or more wins to their name
14/19 – Had won over 6f before
14/19 – Failed to win their last race
13/19 – Finished in the top 4 last time out
12/19 – Rated 90-101
12/19 – Carried 9-1 or more
12/19 – Aged 4 or 5 years-old
12/19 – Came from a double-figure stall
11/19 – Had 7 or more runs that season
11/19 – Unplaced favourites
10/19 – Winning distance 1 length or less
9/19 – Had raced at Ayr before
9/19 – Ran at either Doncaster (3), Goodwood (3) or Haydock (3) last time out
4/19 – Trained by Kevin Ryan
2/19 – Ridden by Frankie Dettori
2/19 – Winning favourites (3 winning favs since 1980)
0/19 – Filly or mare winners
10 of the last 11 winners came from stalls 8 or higher (4 of the last 15 winners came from stall 8)
Since 1980 just five winners aged 6 or older
The last horse to win back-to-back races was Heronsiea in 1930/31
The average winning SP in the last 18 years is 15/1
Note: The 2018 renewal was a dead-heat


JUICESTORM VERDICT: With 10 of the last 11 winners drawn in stalls 8 or higher, then those drawn 1-7, which are Lexington Dash, Rayong, Solidier’s Minute, Young Fire, Gabrial The Wire, Another Beat and Kynren have this as a negative. It’s a race the Kevin Ryan yard have done well in too (won 3 of the last 10) – they run Hey Jonesy and BIELSA (e/w) and the last-named could be interesting. This 5 year-old is drawn 22, so that helps and should be a lot fitter for his last run at Haydock as that came off 2 months out and was also his first after a wind op. He’s won 4 of his 8 career races so knows how to win, while jockey Tom Eaves teamed up with trainer Kevin Ryan to win the 2016 running. Mr Lupton was a nice winner in Ireland last weekend too and despite being up 3lbs for that the jockey – Billy Garritty takes off 5lbs this time so is actually better off. The William Haggas runner – NAHAARR – will be on most people’s radar too, but does need to bounce back from being a beaten favourite at Goodwood last time out. In his defence, he might not have been suited by the track that day and the time before was a nice winner at Newbury – on that form would have a big say with draw 13 giving him options. The final one of interest is ARECIBO (e/w), who rarely runs a back race. This 5 year-old is drawn 25 of 25 and is a past course winner. The blinkers are on for the first time here, while was only beaten 3 lengths in this race last year and returns on a 4lb lower mark. Last year’s third – Gulliver, is another to respect despite having joint topweight of 9-10.



Trade better & faster on Betfair with BetTrader from RacingTraders

Boost your profits by downloading this powerful Betfair trading platform.

Fast browser-based software for betting & trading on Betfair.com Available now for PC & Mac

Download BetTrader for free from RacingTraders
Get RacingTraders
Leave A Reply